Community Led, Community Focused

As a cooperative, Platte-Clay is controlled and governed by its membership. At annual meetings, members elect individuals from their region to represent them on the Board of Directors, which sets policy and helps ensure good governance of the co-op. The service territory is split into three districts (North, South and West) with three members representing each district. One position from each district is up for election per year at the cooperative’s annual meeting.

The Platte-Clay Electric Board of Directors normally meets at 9 a.m. on the third Friday of the month at the cooperative’s headquarters located at 1000 West State Rd. 92, Kearney, Mo. The meeting date is subject to change.

Directors play an important role in the cooperative by giving consumer-members a seat at the decision-making table through local representation. Each director on the Platte-Clay Board of Directors receives $400 for each local meeting attended with no other benefits paid.

Members wishing to contact their director(s) should call Angie Kinard at (816) 628-3121.

Director Mark Baker

Mark Baker

North District Director

Mark Baker has been a Platte-Clay member for thirty years and was elected to the Board of Directors in 2022. Baker is an insurance agency owner and farmer. His priorities as a board member include maintaining cost efficient services and a quality workforce.

Kendall Davis

South District Director

Kendall Davis became a Platte-Clay member in 1983 and joined the Board of Directors in 1991. Kendall is the Coordinator of the Welding Department at Metropolitan Community College where he serves as a professor of technology and instruction. His priorities as a board member include ensuring the co-op provides reliable electric service, controls costs and complies with environmental regulations.

Director David Edwards

David Edwards

North District Director

David Edwards joined the Board of Directors in 2021. Edwards serves as Vice President of Business Development for a cybersecurity company and has over 30 years of business leadership experience across several industries including manufacturing, software and financial services.

Director Dennis Fulk

Dennis Fulk

West District Director

Dennis Fulk became a Platte-Clay member in 1974 and has served on the Board of Directors since 1993. Dennis is a self-employed farmer and has served on numerous electric industry boards, including the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives and N.W. Electric Cooperative. His priorities include preparing the co-op for workforce changes, embracing technology and maintaining a focus on safety.

Kim Goepferich

South District Director

Kim Goepferich became a Platte-Clay member in 1994 and has been serving on the Board of Directors since 2016. Kim works for the Kearney School District and has extensive business management experience. Her priorities as a board member include continuing to provide reliable and affordable energy, improving technology and meeting the challenge of change in the electrical industry.

Director Larry Leachman

Larry Leachman

West District Director

Larry Leachman became a Platte-Clay member in 2000 and was first appointed to the Board of Directors in 2013. Larry holds a Busine